The Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP) is funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) and named after former Cleveland US Representative Louis Stokes, who served as a leading figure in the United States Congress in matters concerning civil rights, equality, and social and economic justice.

The mission of the IINSPIRE LSAMP Alliance is to increase the number of underrepresented minority (URM) STEM graduates in the alliance and to build a foundation for more significant increases in future years. Students from populations historically underrepresented in STEM (science, technology, engineering, and math) disciplines are a growing segment of the region’s population, and there is statewide urgency to remove the barriers to progress in developing a diverse STEM workforce.

The Iowa State University (ISU) Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (ISU IINSPIRE LSAMP) Program is part of the Iowa Illinois Nebraska STEM Partnership for Innovation in Research and Education (IINSPIRE) which is an alliance among 16 two-year and four-year colleges and universities working together to attract the states’ growing underrepresented minority (URM) population into STEM fields and to attract students from other regions to STEM education opportunities in Iowa, Illinois, and Nebraska.

For more information, visit our IINSPIRE LSAMP Alliance Webpage.